1.1 Visit @ BHS

Standard

Sharing one’s own experiences with others is always a rewarding experience. As Help Desk students, last Thursday’s 1.1 Visit at BHS was just another opportunity to draw on our experiences to showcase the school’s technologically advanced environment. My classmates and I acted as mediators, providing insight on the school’s 1.1 environment and citing first/second hand experience to do. I’m glad to say that my partner (Jhymon)  and I worked together rather effectively, exchanging points and calling upon one another’s unique experience to answer our visitors’ questions.

The visitors in our group were curious as to holarkinw the iPad was used in various subjects, namely mathematics and English. Of course, both Jhymon and I gave our two cents regarding how we utilized the iPad in these subjects. Yet, we felt that the best way display the use of the iPad was to show the visitors, first hand, how the iPad was used in select few classes. Math teachers, including Mr. McNeill and Mr. Blanchette, explained how not only the iPads, but the SmartBoards, were very helpful in the classroom. Notability was also highlighted as one of the most effective applications in the mathematics hall. As for English, many of our visitors were surprised to find that students could use their iPads to not only read the novels assigned to them, but to annotate them in a very organized manner as well. We were also able to catch students using their iPads to access primary/secondary sources amid a research project. In Mrs. Mckee’s classroom, our visitors saw students engaged in a class discussion, during which students used iPads to organize their notes.

The opportunity to address the entire audience of visitors is one that I hold very highly. It’s not every day that one gets put “in the spotlight”. So given this opportunity, I opted to share a bit about a couple of the technology conferences at which I’ve presented with Mrs. Scheffer and a few classmates. I also got to share a bit about my ILE, developing a Help Desk IOS app. Overall, I felt as though I was able to articulate myself effectively. But, given more time, I’m there would have been plenty more for me to share with our guests. Once again, it’s not everyday that we, as students, get the opportunity to help others by sharing our own insight and expertise. That being said, I’m thrilled to say that BHS’s 1.1 Visit was, without question, a great success!

Leave a Reply

